Your Guide To Emotional Romance Books Like The Notebook

I have a book recommendation guide to billionaire romances like Fifty Shades of Grey and now I am back to keeping your TBR list filled up with a selection of heart-touching, emotional romance books like The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks. It was his first published novel, published in 1996. It was adapted into a movie with the same name in 2004.

People have claimed to cry rivers of tears both reading and watching it. The love story of a guy and a girl, both battling their illnesses and trying to keep their love alive for as long as they live. Let’s look at some books which capture the same ever-loving romance in them.

1. The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

John Green’s most heartbreaking book, The Fault In Our Stars follows the story of Hazel, a terminally ill girl who is forced by her parents to attend a support group. But that reluctant step by Hazel becomes a pivoting point in her life. She meets Augustus, an amputee survivor, and falls in love with him. With the plot line destined to be tragic, the love Hazel and Augustus share is what makes this novel beautifully tragic.


The book has also been adapted to movies, an American one and an Indian one, both of which enjoyed critical and commercial success.

2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

When 26-year-old Louise accepts the position to become a caretaker for 35-year-old Will, wheelchair-bound after a motorcycle accident, she thought it was just to support her after losing her previous job. Little does she know that while caring for him and igniting his desire to live, she will fall in love.


A tear-jerking emotional romance that explores sensitive topics like disabilities, suicide, and loss of desire in living, along with a growing relationship between the protagonists, Me Before You is sure to get your eyes misty. The book was also adapted into a movie by the same name in 2016.

3. P.S. I Love You by Cecilia Ahern

In this book about true love, loss, and rediscovery, Cecelia Ahern tells the tale of Holly, who feels lost and destitute after her husband dies from a brain tumor. Although they used to fight and have arguments, Holly thinks that all those things were irrelevant and what mattered the most was his presence beside her.


However, she starts receiving letters from her late husband, all signed with “P.S. I Love You” which propels her to look brightly at her future and go on adventures. An emotional romance stringed out with love, the novel was also adapted into a motion picture by the same name in 2007.

4. Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Maddy and Olly’s love story revolves around the unique friendship where a girl isolated in her home because of an immunodeficiency disorder and a boy dealing with his father’s abuse connect with each other over messaging. They eventually meet and Maddy convinces Olly to take a trip to Hawaii, risking it all. However, their story is presented with dangerous curves when Maddy falls sick and later, when Olly and his mother move after leaving the shackles of his father.


A teenage romance, an emotional bond, and some dark secrets, Nicola Yoon penned a lovely tale to make readers fall in love with the characters and cry with them. The book was also adapted into a motion picture of the same name in 2017.

5. November 9 by Colleen Hoover

A heart-touching novel where two people meet every year on the same date they first met. Meet Fallon and Ben, who met each other on the day before Fallon’s cross-country move. Navigating relationships, situations, and life individually, Ben and Fallon form a deep bond, destined to be together. You know, the part where readers scream “Damn, they should definitely be together!” Exactly.


And like a typical Hoover, you’re in for a major twist. Which will make you cry, like every other book on this list.

6. It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Ah, another Colleen Hoover book on the list. But what can we do? Readers adore her. The stories she tells make us feel like we’re going through the scenario ourselves. It Ends With Us touches on the pain and trauma people, directly and indirectly, involved with domestic abuse go through. Lily’s parents’ marriage was abusive but she feels her love for Ryle would be different.


What ensues is how their future unfolds from the past experiences of both of their lives and what happens when a kindred spirit from the past reappears. While the theme doesn’t directly correspond to The Notebook, we do see a different type of pain that love goes through, with a different perspective and challenges.

7. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Words sometimes fail to describe the severity of mental illnesses and even in today’s age and time, mental illness is overlooked by many. Meet Violet, who is being consumed by her survivor’s guilt, and Finch, who is an undiagnosed bipolar, fascinated by thoughts of death and suicide. When they both start working together on a high school project, their friendship, and eventual emotional romance, pave the way for them to grow closer.


Published in 2015, All The Bright Places is Jennifer Niven’s first young adult book. Heart tugging and emotionally loaded, the book is a tear-jerker with its all-too-human characters and their battles as outcasts.


The world of romance is not limited to falling in love, love triangles, and jealous exes. Authors are touching on sensitive topics, especially in this list, like deteriorating physical and mental health. The current generation is becoming more aware and authors are defining and embracing a different kind of love story even if it means losing the one we love. We hope you enjoyed this list of romance books like The Notebook!